November 12, 2013

Hockey Hall of Fame Book of Players

Every few years the Hockey Hall of Fame comes out with a fantastic new book highlighting the greatest players in the history of the game: the enshrined members of the Hockey Hall of Fame.

2013 brings us the Hockey Hall of Fame Book of Players . It is right up to date including the 2013 inductees Scott Niedermayer, Brendan Shanahan, Geraldine Heaney and Chris Chelios. 

It reminds me a whole lot of the 2011 release Official Guide To The Players Of The Hockey Hall of Fame. That book was almost a real thick pocket book, where as the new release is in large coffee table format. Which is actually nicer in that the photos that tend to dominate these Hall of Fame books are more enjoyable in the larger size.

But other than that the two books have a very similar feel to them. The content is rewritten but essentially says the same thing. This must always be a challenge for the Hockey Hall of Fame. Their tried and true formula with these books is heavy on the photos and lean on the biographies. Often it is the sidebar features that steal the show.

The Hockey Hall of Fame Book of Players is a nice book on it's own. If you have been collecting hockey books for any serious length of time you will know the book is essentially an updated version of previous Hall of Fame releases.

Here's more from the publishers:

Profiles, stories, artifacts and archival images of every player in the Hockey Hall of Fame.

The greatest individual honor that can be bestowed upon a professional hockey player is to be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. Hockey Hall of Fame Book of Players  celebrates each and every player who has been so honored since the first class in 1945, and all the way to the class of 2013.

Buy The Book: - Chapters -

Here are just a few of the Hockey Hall of Fame's most famous inductees:
  • Wayne Gretzky
  • Bobby Orr
  • Maurice Richard
  • Guy Lafleur
  • Patrick Roy
  • Tim Horton
  • Johnny Bower
  • Ken Dryden
  • Mark Messier
  • Frank Mahovlich
  • Brett Hull
  • Steve Yzerman
  • Joe Sakic
Hockey Hall of Fame Book of Players also features artifacts and memorabilia from the Hockey Hall of Fame's extensive archive, including: Bill Barilko's Stanley Cup-winning puck (the last goal he ever scored), Wayne Gretzky's record-setting 802nd goal puck and Mario Lemieux's 1987 Canada Cup jersey.

Complete with more than 300 photos and 100 artifacts -- as well as stats, facts, quotes and other interesting stories and snapshots from each star's career -- Hockey Hall of Fame Book of Players is the definitive book on the stars who have been awarded hockey's most prestigious honor.


  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by 2008

Back to TOP